Manuel Collaku
Ref# UMD0022

About Me
My name is Manuel Collaku. I'm a 11-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
February 10, 2011.
Attends Program

Upper Mokra

Program Country

Albania

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Hello! My name is Manuel Collaku. I am 10 years old and my birthday is on February 10th. I am doing well and enjoy good health. My favorite color is purple and my future dream is to be a dentist. I meet every day to play outside with my friends. Our favorite game is football. We also do running races, play hide and seek and many other simple games. Soon, I will starting my year in the 5th grade.  My favorite subject I like to study the most is English. I am a frequent with the Adopt a Child programme at the house that we meet. My friends and I attend every week the children’s Bible classes and there we enjoy praying, singing to the Lord and hearing the Bible stories that the teachers are telling to us. After the Bible lessons, we all play outside for a while and I enjoy very much the time I spend there. Once a month, I have benefited a package that contains groceries as oil, sugar, rice, flour, soaps, etc and I am thankful to the Adopt a Child for their support.  

My family and I live in Dunica. My father’s name is Erjon and my mother’s name is Manjola. I have a sister whose name is Megi. She is 5 years old and attends the kindergarten. I like to care for her while she plays so that my mother can rest for a bit or can be free to do the housekeeping. Megi is also registered in the programme. My grandmother is also living with us and is part of our family. My parents care for her. She is old and has retired. She receives a small village pension. My parents same as in every family of our village raise animals to provide for our living as the lands are not productive. My father and mother keep a cow. Carrying for the cow we benefit milk and butter that we need for consumption and once a year, my father sells it calf so that he can gain a bit more of income. The land is not producing much and working in it is not beneficial. My parents plant corn or wheat so that we have stock food provision for the cow to feed it during the winter. On spring my mother planted the vegetable garden and we have already started to collect peppers, tomatoes, onions, and beans that we consume as fresh products in our meals. Around our land and garden we have got a few fruits trees as whole nuts, plums, apples and pears. My parents gather the fruits and my mother makes composts and jams and preserves them in jars so that we can consume them during the winter. We have also a few chickens and I like to feed them with corn. We benefit fresh eggs from the chickens. Same as all the people who live in Dunica, my family and I live in poverty and we are thankful to the Adopt a Child sponsorship programme for their help and support to us. God bless you!

Living Water Adopt a Child is visiting upper Mokra three days every week to serve the children and adults there. The roads are quite challenging to travel towards these villages. Living Waters has rented a home in Dunica and two bars in Kalivac and Trebinja to hold bible studies in. The team is doing bible studies at present for the children. The children are receiving every month or six weeks a food package dedicated to help them physically, supplying their need for food.

Edited by World Race

Adopt a Child Albania