Ana Ajqui Gomez
Ref# CC0807

About Me
My name is Ana Ajqui Gomez. I'm a 18-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 14, 2004.
Attends Program

Cuatro Caminos

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

I am Ana Ajqui Gomez, and it is a pleasure for me to greet you through this. I am eighteen years old. I do not attend school, so I am working in another village for two months. With the money I get from it, I help my family economically. I really missed attending the feeding program during the time it was closed due to the pandemic. Thankfully, it is open again, so I get there in twenty minutes from home by walking. My father does farm work, and thanks to it, he supports my family financially. My mom sells herbs in the local market on Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday. During the time we spend together as a family, we talk and have a good time. We celebrated Christmas with tamales. At the moment, we attend the Catholic Church that is located half an hour from home by walking. At the time the church was closed due to the pandemic, my family only prayed at home.

We own a house with two rooms and a separate kitchen. The house is made of adobe, the roof of clay roof tiles and the floor of dirt. It does not have electricity, so we use candles at night. We do not have running water, so we get water from a river by using a hose. The house condition is good. The pandemic did affect us because my dad didn't have much work. We overcame this situation thanks to God, and the feeding program that provided us with grocery bags which were all a great help and met some of our food expenses because food supplies such as corn are a great need at home. Thank you very much for blessing us in this way. God bless you. For now, we are all doing well, thank God. Finally, I want you to know my oldest sister gave this information to an Evangelism team member to share with you my last news. I say goodbye to you for now. I hope to hear from you soon.

Gratefully,

Ana Ajqui Gomez

Translated by: Febe Ruiz / AAC Secretary-Antigua