Marcos Garcia Ruiz
Ref# CA1287

About Me
My name is Marcos Garcia Ruiz. I'm a 15-year-old.

My birthday is
October 29, 2008.
Attends Program

Cuatro Caminos

Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Hello! How are you? I am Marcos, and I am writing this to update my 2023 information. First, I am going to tell you about my parents. My father’s name is Ernesto, and he is 65 years old. He is in good health, and he works as a day laborer. My mother’s name is Marta, and she is 45 years old. She is in good health, and she works hard at home. The whole family goes to work in the coffee plantation at the coast for four months to improve the income. We grow corn, and it is for the family consumption. We do not have domestic animals at home because we do not have the possibilities to feed them. We are a humble family, and our greatest needs are groceries and corn. We attend a charismatic group that belongs to the Catholic Church once a week. We are assured of our Salvation.

My full name is Marcos Garcia Ruiz, and I am healthy. I am 14 years old. I am in 2nd grade, and I am happy to receive face-to-face classes because I learn faster ,and I can interact with my friends. Sometimes, it is difficult for my parents to support me with my studies because they have to cover other needs. My dream is to become a mason in the future. My favorite seasons are winter and Holy Week; in winter, the land is ready for the crops. My parents do not have the custom to celebrate my birthday, but I know the date, and I like spending my special day with my family. I speak Quiche dialect as my first language, so I have to improve my Spanish. I prefer soccer as a sport, and I love drinking “Incaparina” (hot drink made from corn and soy). Living Water and you have an important place in my life, and I thank you for all the blessings received at the feeding program. I end my letter hoping you find it interesting. May God bless you!

Kisses and hugs

Marcos Garcia Ruiz

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio/A-A-C Secretary, Antigua Guatemala