Rei Coco
Ref# KA1085

About Me
My name is Rei Coco. I'm a 14-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
September 6, 2008.
Attends Program

Katjel

Program Country

Albania

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

My name is Rei Coco. I am 13 years old. My birthday is September 6th. I am in good health. My favorite color is blue. I want to be a teacher when I get older. My favorite subject is P.E (physical education)  Right after school. I get together with my friends and we play football in the school field of the village. Recently, we had snow for a few weeks, so I have not been able to play for a long while. Instead, we have played with snow balls and have enjoyed taking walks around, in the roads of the village and speaking to one another. I try my best to help my father and mother, chapping fire wood and loading them in our wood stove. The fire in our home burns all day and my mother does the cooking in the same stove we use for heat. Here in the village, we don’t have activities for the youth and the only activities that are available for us are the ones that the church of Katjel does. I frequent regularly all these activities and in the same time, while I go there, I can meet with friends and fellowship with them or play football.

My family and I live in Katjel. I have five people in my family. I live with my mom, dad, and my sister. My grandmother lives in our home and is part of our family. She is retired and receives a small village pension from her previous job here in the village. We have land in the village, but we don’t get much profit out of it. My parents this year have planted wheat and alfalfa. My mother will plant the vegetable garden again this year and will plant beans, onions, tomatoes, peppers and other vegetables. Around our land and home are a few cherries that are ready to be picked in June, then my parents can sell them to gain a bit more profit. Right now it is winter. It is very cold, so we aren’t planting anything till April, My father has decided to sell the cow during the past year. It was very challenging to find food for it.  My father deals with agriculture only and works in the village, but this job brings him very little income to cover all that we need for the living. We are financially challenged, same as every one who lives in the village. Whenever my father has an opportunity to emigrate in Northern Macedonia or in Greece, our income gets a bit better, but when he doesn’t have this possibility, we are remaining with very low income and consume what we plant in the fields only. For this reason, living in poverty, I am very thankful to the Adopt a child sponsorship programme for the benefits I gain frequenting the church of Katjel.

About us: The Living Water church in Katjel has their weekly services on Saturdays. During the week, the church has other activities going on such as prayer meetings, Bible studies for men, women, teens and youth. The Leaders of this church are also taking lessons online from The Institute School of Theology and Leadership. Every six weeks, each child who is part of the sponsorship program of Adopt a Child receives a package that contains food such as flour, oil, rice, pasta, sugar, etc.  We are very thankful to you for your help and care that you are giving to the children, physically and spiritually.

Edited by World Race

Adopt A Child Albania