Gregoria Simaj Portuguez
Ref# CC0781

About Me
My name is Gregoria Simaj Portuguez. I'm a 18-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 25, 2004.
Attends Program

Cuatro Caminos

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Hello!

I am Gregoria Simaj Portugez, and I really hope you and your family are healthy. Let me tell you that I live with my parents and siblings. I am 18 years old, and I am a ninth-grader. Currently, I receive classes at school from Monday to Friday in the schedules from 8:00 to 12:00 pm. Thank God, I am doing a good job and almost do not have any doubts about homework. After school, I help my mother to do the household chores in the afternoons. She works hard daily to prepare our meals and raises domestic animals for selling to help my father with the income. My father strives a lot to cover the expenses by working in the field. Besides that, my older siblings help us with some money to support other necessities. My whole family and I spend good moments together. Last year, we shared a beautiful time on Christmas Eve because we prepared tamales (this is a typical dish) and ate them. For New Year’s, we attended mass at the Catholic Church; we had fun, ate a piece of bread, and drank coffee.

God has always been merciful with us because our church did not close its doors during the trickiest months of the pandemic since our brethren organized small groups to attend mass. Nowadays, it works as usual, and my mother has the privilege to lead prayers. The church is an hour’s walk from where we live. We live in our own house made of adobe walls, a tin sheet roof, and a dirt floor. Our home has two rooms, a separate kitchen, and electricity. There is no running water at home, but we get it from a creek with a hose. As you know, the pandemic came to change our behaviors, and now, we cannot go outside in freedom. Besides that, groceries like corn, beans, sugar, and rice are more expensive every day, and because of that, I would like to ask for your prayers. Fortunately, my whole family and I are doing well, and the feeding program is open again. I missed going there to play with my friends and eating lunches along with my siblings. The program is a 15-minute walk from where we live. Finally, let me tell you that my mother gave this information to the evangelism team member to share with you my last news. May God reward you with the deepest wishes from the bottom of your heart!

Many kisses and hugs,

Gregoria Simaj Portugez

Translated by: Hillary Popol, ACC/Guatemala