Kristi Xhyra
Ref# RD0817

About Me
My name is Kristi Xhyra. I'm a 18-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
December 25, 2003.
Attends Program

Rodokal

Program Country

Albania

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Hello! My name is Kristi Xhyra. I am 17 years old and my birthday is on December 25th. I am doing well and in good health. My favorite color is blue. I frequent the high school. On June I completed the 2nd grade high school and at present I am off from school till it starts on September. My favorite subject that I enjoy to study the most at school is Math. Living in the village, my family and I have quite a lot of work. We deal with agriculture and plant products that we consume. I am doing my best to help my family with all that I can offer to do. We have a cow and I take it out in the fields to feed it. I meet in my free time with my friends so that we can play and fellowship. When we gather, we usually choose to play football as one of our favorite games, but we also enjoy taking short walks and speaking with one another or play with cards.

My family and I live in Rodokal. Our home is very far from upper Rodokal and when I go to school, I need to walk for at least an hour. My house offers appropriated living conditions to us. I have five persons in my family. My father’s name is Ilir and my mother’s name is Mbaresa. I have an older brother who is matured already and is working together with my father. My grandmother lives with our family. She is retired and receives a small village pension. My father is jobless. He is working in the land we own in the village and has planted wheat and alfalfa. We harvested the wheat on July and have also gathered the alfalfa and have piled it up. My father makes sure to provide enough food for our cow and he is also providing flour for our family. My mother and grandmother bake the bread at home for us. My mother besides the housekeeping is also working in our land and garden. My grandmother is feeding the cow in the fields. We benefit a few litters of milk to consume as well as other milk-products as cheese, butter and yogurt. My father sells a calf every year and with the income he benefits he buys what is needed the most in our family. My mother has provided for us vegetables from the garden as tomatoes, peppers, beans, etc. My parents have also started to collect the fruits from the trees. We have got apples, plums and nuts. My mother dries the fruits or makes jam and juice for us to consume. We live in a remote area. My brother has managed to buy an old car so that whenever we need to go to the town we can use our own car. He is also being hired rarely from the people in the village as taxi. Same as every family who lives in Rodokal, mine is challenged in every way and we face poverty and live with very low income. I am very thankful to the sponsorship programme for the help I benefit from there spiritually and physically. My friends and I frequent the discipleship classes and after the classes we gather to play football. We enjoyed our time this year at the summer camp that was organized in our church for a week. Every month, we receive a food package containing sugar, rice, oil, pasta, etc. Every Saturday, my friends and I have the opportunity to frequent the church services to worship God and to learn from His Word.

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child Albania