Sheyla Roxana Gutierrez Garcia
Ref# CC1324

About Me
My name is Sheyla Roxana Gutierrez Garcia. I'm a 14-year-old.

My birthday is
July 16, 2010.
Attends Program

Cuatro Caminos

Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

It is my pleasure to greet you with this letter. This is Sheyla Roxana Gutierrez Garcia, and I turn 13 years old in July of this year. I am thankful to God because we are healthy. Praise the Lord, we are attending Pentecostal Prince of Peace Church and go on Mondays. We have already accepted Jesus in our hearts, but we thank LW staff who dedicated time to encourage us to seek God. My mother is Julia, and she is 45 years old. She makes a living by reselling vegetables and herbs in the market. We raise hens, pigs, and a cow; we sell them when we have some need. We also grow corn and black beans for our consumption. My father is Encarnacion, but he does not live with us, and he carries goods for other people in the market. He hardly ever supports us, and occasionally, he gives me Q50.00 = $6.

I am a fifth-grade student, and I receive classes at school; I like to study in this way because I learn a lot. Fortunately, studying in a public school is good because my mother does not waste much money. I would like to learn English; I think it is a very interesting language. Playing football is so much fun; it is my favorite sport. My favorite beverages are juices and orange soda. I like spending my birthday with my family; we usually eat lunch together and eat a delicious cake. At Christmas I like the firecrackers that people light around; they are very nice. I am so blessed to be part of the program because I receive support which is so important to me and also my siblings; God bless you. What we need the most at home is food and corn. I hope you like my letter and I hope to hear from you soon. Every blessing on your daily activities!

With much love,

Sheyla Roxana Gutierrez Garcia

Translated by: Violeta Hernandez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua Guatemala