Nery Orlando Gomez Garcia
Ref# CC1250

About Me
My name is Nery Orlando Gomez Garcia. I'm a 14-year-old.

My birthday is
November 20, 2009.
Attends Program

Cuatro Caminos

Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

I greet you in this opportunity wishing you much success in your daily life. I am Nery Orlando Gomez Garcia and I am 13 years old. I am so happy to share with you a little about my family and me. My mother`s name is Micaela Garcia Calachij. She is 32 years old. At the moment, she does chores at home, and she continues raising hens and sheep to sell and get some income. Moreover, she embroiders napkins also for sale. My father`s name is Abraham Gomez Calachij. He is 46 years old. He continues working as a day laborer and also travels to the coast to pick coffee from October to February during the harvest season. In addition, he works as a carpenter. We grow corn, black beans, bananas, peaches, herbs, “chilacayotes” (a kind of pumpkin), “guisquiles” (a kind of vegetable) for sale, sometimes for family consumption.  As a humble family, our current needs are corn and groceries. At the moment, we continue attending the Liberty Church from LW every Tuesday. Thank you to the LW evangelism team who encouraged my mother to continue seeking God and trust in him. So, she is sure of her salvation in Jesus. Thank God, all my family and I are in good health.

Unfortunately, this year I am repeating the 4th grade at school. I continue receiving face-to-face classes every day.  I have been learning so far, and I hope to pass my grade. My parents strive to support my siblings and me at school. Nowadays, school fees are expensive sometimes it is difficult to cover all expenses due to a lack of stable jobs. In the future, I want to become a merchandiser and work in a store. My native language is the Quiche Mayan dialect, so I would like to learn Spanish and improve my communication with other people. I love to celebrate Christmas because I light fireworks and our custom is to eat “tamales” (a typical dish). My favorite beverage is “Incaparina” (a hot drink made with soy and corn flour). We do not have the custom to celebrate birthdays but, I enjoy spending my birthday by swimming in the nearby river. Among sports, I prefer soccer. We are grateful to Living Water because I receive the meals, medical and dental attention, and spiritual support. I want to say thank you for the Christmas gift that I receive at year`s end. May God bless you and take care of you!

Lots of love,

Nery Orlando Gomez Garcia

Translated by:  Gladys Chavez /A-A-C Secretary