Cesar Fabian Mendez Giron
Ref# ZA4710

About Me
My name is Cesar Fabian Mendez Giron. I'm a 5-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
December 7, 2017.
Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley. The village is inhabited by both Quiché Mayans and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish. Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe. Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small town tradesmen. It also has a large open air market which serves much of the area. Even with all of this, the poverty level is very high and the children are very needy.

My name is Cesar Fabian Mendez Giron, and I am four years old. I was born on December 7, 2017. I am a healthy boy, and I attend the Zacualpa feeding program. I am not attending school yet because I am still too young. I like to spend my time playing football. I like the color orange, and my favorite animal is the giraffe. I love to eat noodles with meat. I live with my father and with my two sisters. My father works as a truck driver, and he covers our needs. Sadly, my mother passed away about three years because she was sick from her blood pressure. We are members of New Jerusalem Church. We live in a house that belongs to my aunts, and it is made of bricks walls, cement roof and granite floor. There are five rooms and a kitchen. We have running water and electricity; my grandmother pays for these services. We share the house with my grandmother and with my aunts. At home, we have hens, ducks and a dove. My sisters and I walk about twenty minutes to attend the feeding program.

Hugs and many blessings,

Cesar Fabian Mendez Giron

Translated by: Esther Hernández, AAC Secretary/Antigua