Marlen Lidia de la Cruz Morente
Ref# CC1557

About Me
My name is Marlen Lidia de la Cruz Morente. I'm a 8-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
June 14, 2014.
Attends Program

Chixocol

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Cuatro Caminos "four roads", where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life is this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Cuatro Caminos is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major crops.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello! I hope you are receiving many blessings from our Lord. My name is Marlen Lidia de la Cruz Morente and I am seven years old. I was born on June 14, 2014. I attend the Cuatro Caminos feeding program. I am in good health. I have three brothers and two sisters. My father´s name is Julio de la Cruz Luis, and he works as a day laborer. He grows corn for our consumption. My mother´s name is Micaela Morente Gutierrez, and she is a housewife. She tends two cows that she has at home. I am studying in the first grade at school. I enjoy playing dolls, toy dishes and hide and seek. My favorite color is pink and orange. I love to eat fried and roast chicken. My favorite animal is the hen. My family and I attend Living Water Church called Liberty. We have our own house which is made of adobe, tile roof and cement floor. We have two rooms with a separate kitchen. We have a small room where we have a corn mill. We have running water and electricity. My siblings and I walk about one hour and a half to attend the feeding program.  

With much love,

Marlen Lidia de la Cruz Morente

Translated by: Esther Hernández, AAC Secretary/Antigua