Estefany Yadira Gutierrez de la Cruz
Ref# ZA4567

About Me
My name is Estefany Yadira Gutierrez de la Cruz. I'm a 9-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 3, 2013.
Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley. The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe. Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small, specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers, and many other small-town tradesmen. It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area. Even with all of this, the poverty level is very high, and the children are very needy.

Hello! I hope you and your family are in good health and filled with God’s rich blessings. My name is Estefany Yadira Gutierrez de la Cruz. I live in a town called Zacualpa. I am 8 years old, and I was born on May 3, 2013. My father’s name is Nazario Gutierrez Simaj, and my mother’s name is Maria de la Cruz Mucia. I have 4 brothers and 5 sisters. I am currently attending school as a first grader. I go to school face-to-face every Monday. My favorite thing to do in my free time is help my mother with her shop in the plaza and study. My favorite color is pink, my favorite animal is a curly haired dog, and my favorite dish is noodles and rice. My mother gave the evangelism team my information over the phone because of COVID-19; they are avoiding as much physical contact as possible to keep everyone safe. My father does not live with us and does not help us financially. My mother believes it is possible he has another family. He works on coffee plantations on the coast. My mother has a small business in the plaza where she sells food to provide for us. The house we live in belongs to my family since the land we live on was inherited by my mother. We are located about a 20 to 25-minute walk from the feeding program. Our humble house is made of processed recycled wood boards, the roof is made of tin sheet, and the floor is made of dirt. Thank God, we have running water, electricity, and a drainage system for the bathroom. We have one large room that is divided into two parts since my maternal grandmother lives with us. We also have a separate kitchen. My mother is unfortunately in debt to the bank because she took out a loan to better the house and to have the services mentioned above (electricity, water, drainage). We are all grateful because the Living Water Ministry and the school has blessed us with groceries. Our needs are food, clothes, and shoes. As for my health, I have issues with my appetite, and I am pale in the face. I have not been able to visit the doctor because of our low income. I am a member of the catholic church. I am thankful for the Lord’s love and mercy in my life.

With lots of love,

Estefany Yadira Gutierrez de la Cruz

Translated by: Kalyan Marroquin / Missionary Intern