Ekleva Qose
Ref# UMT0025

About Me
My name is Ekleva Qose. I'm a 9-year-old.

My birthday is
May 21, 2014.
Attends Program

Upper Mokra

Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Hello! My name is Ekleva Qose. I am a 6 year old girl and my birthday is on May 21st. I am doing well and enjoy good health. My family and I live in Trebinja, Upper Mokra. My favorite color is red and my future dream is to be a teacher. I spend my free time playing with my friends the games we have here in the village which are popular and very simple. Usually we play after school. I frequent the first grade at school in my village, not too far from my home and am doing well with the lessons. I enjoy school and learning and I love my first teacher and my class friends that I knew when I started school on September. My favorite subject at school is ABC. We are off from school till January 11th. My family and I celebrated Christmas and the New Year at home and had a happy time altogether. My mother cooked a special dinner for us and we enjoyed it while waiting the New Year arrival. I have received the first Christmas Gift from Adopt a Child and this was a great joy for me. I was very happy with this gift containing many school supplies that I needed.

My father’s name is Ardjan and my mother’s name is Enxhi. I am the only child in my family. We live in an old home in Trebinja and our home doesn’t offer appropriated living conditions. My family same as all the other families in Upper Mokra are facing proverty. Our village, Trebinja is a community centre for many other villages around it and in the centre of our village we have a high school, a community building with a few offices, a hospital where a few nurses and doctors come to serve to the people as well as a few coffee bars and groceries shops. Same as all the people who live in Trebinje, my parents own land and plant in it crops, vegetables as well as alfalfa or corn that serves as stock food for our animals. We have also got a few fruit trees as apples and plums around our land and garden. My mother bakes the bread at home and this is why my parents plant wheat. My parents besides tomatoes, peppers plant also beans so that we can consume them especially during the winter. My mother has already preserved tomatoes and peppers for us to consume as well as a few jars with jam or compost from the fruits. My parents keep a cow and we benefit from it milk, yogurt, butter, cheese and other sub products that we consume daily. During the winter they feed our cow inside the stable next to our home and during the other seasons, my parents take it out in the fields to be feed. My father has already managed to collect the stock food the cow needs during the winter. My father once a year sells the calf and with the amount he benefits, he buys for us more food or new clothes or other things that are needed in our home. The income my father has is too low to support our living needs and the government is giving a social assistance to our family because what we benefit from the land or animals is too less to meet our needs for food. We use in our home a fire cooking stove so that we can stay warm in our living room. We only have the possibility to use wood for heating and my father has managed to cut in the mountain and transport the wood we need to burn during all the winter. I am very happy that I am now registered in the sponsorship programme of Adopt a Child. I am benefiting once every month a package that contains groceries as flour, sugar, oil, sugar, rice, washing detergents, soaps, etc and we feel privileged to get such a great help as family. The LWAAC team comes to our village twice a week and they are doing Bible study meetings for the ladies and Bible classes for the teens above 13. I am not able to frequent because of the Pandemic and can’t wait to join in these meetings and learn about God from the teachers there. Even that we live in a Muslim community many ladies are frequenting the meeting and learning from the Bible, having an open hearts. The persons of the team are visiting the families in Trebinja and are sharing God’s Word for the people in this community. All the families are showing hospitability and respect to them.

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child Albania