Astrit Cela
Ref# PP0012

About Me
My name is Astrit Cela. I'm a 7-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
November 30, 2014.
Attends Program

Proptisht

Program Country

Albania

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Hello! My name is Astrit Cela. I am a 6 years old boy and my birthday is on November 30th. I am in good health. My favorite color is blue and my future dream is to be a police. I attend the first grade at school and enjoy learning ABC and Math as well as a few other subjects from the teachers. I have made new friends while I attend school. Because of the Pandemic, we take the lessons in two shifts so that we can be fewer in class. Respecting the pandemic rules, we also have to keep masks on. After I get home from school, I like to get together with my friends and cousins who live near and we play for a while. Our games are simple as hide and seek, play with a ball, etc. During the season of spring we get to play for longer because it gets sunny and the days are longer. I prefer to study during the evenings, in the same time when my two older sisters study. They help me to do the homework correctly. My family and I live in Proptisht. Our home offers good living conditions to us, but not the best. Same as all the people who live in the village, our homes are not as good as the ones in the towns. I have five persons in my family. My father’s name is Minir and my mother’s name is Nafije. I have two sisters who are, Arjela, 14 years old and Serajda, 11 years old. They both attend school and are also benefiting from the programme of Adopt a Child. My sisters frequent the Bible classes and the church activities and at times I also go with them. My sisters are both helping my mother when she cleans and cooks. I also like to help her when she asks me to run to the shop and get something small she needs while cooking. My father is emigrating constantly and working in Greece for six months every year in order to provide for our family. There he deals with agriculture and earns a better income, compared with what he would get doing the same job in the village. Here in the village, we have land that we own and my parents plant wheat, corn, alfalfa as well as a vegetable garden. My mother bakes the bread at home and the flour she needs gets provided from planting wheat. We have also a cow and benefit milk and other sub products as cheese, butter, yogurt etc. Once every year, my father is able to sell its calf and this way we have a special income raised to be used for our family needs. My mother in the coming months will plant the vegetable garden and this way we will be provided with fresh vegetables as peppers, tomatoes, onions, beans, etc. Because my father has the possibility to emigrate and work in Greece, we are not very poor but same as all the people who live in our area, we face constant financial hardships. The government is treating my family with a social assistance so that we can have poverty reduced somehow.  

About us: The Living Water Adopt a Child team is doing two meetings during the week in Proptisht. There we have rented a small bar that serves also as a groceries shop. Because of the pandemic distancing rules, the classes are done in groups of ten to fifteen persons so at times there are two or more classes being held in the same day. On Thursdays the children gather in Bible classes and when the Bible classes are completed, the team goes to visit homes and spread the good news whenever they are invited. The church service in Proptisht is every Monday. Every month the children who are in the program of Proptisht receive a food package containing ingredients that are cooked at home. The package contains food items as sugar, rice, oil, pasta, etc, items that can be cooked and can cover ten to twelve meals for the whole family. Thank you for helping the children and through them the whole community spiritually and physically.

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child Albania