Mario Leka
Ref# PP0020

About Me
My name is Mario Leka. I'm a 15-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
November 27, 2007.
Attends Program

Proptisht

Program Country

Albania

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Hello! My name is Mario Leka. I am a 12 years old boy and my birthday is on November 27th. I am in health. My future dream is to study and become a police. My favorite game to play is football and the color I prefer the most is blue. I completed the seventh grade at school. During the Pandemic time, our teachers gave to us the lessons online and we replied to them using the Mobile phone of our family. We had a class group where we communicated and sent our homework. My preferred school subject is Language. Schools are already closed for the summer break and I have more free time to play football together with my friends and in the same time to help my family with all that I can.  My father’s name is Besjan and my mother’s name is Aurela. I have a brother whose name is Vasil. He is ten years old at present and completed the fourth grade at school. My family and I live in Proptisht. My village offers a beautiful view and is surrounded from many hills. A river is also running alongside our village. My family makes the living by working in the lands and raising animals. The lands are in the hills and not as much productive. All the work on the lands is done by hand because machineries can’t reach them. Even though, a heavy tractor might reach in a few places. Usually, my parents plant crops as wheat or corn. My mother prefers to bake the bread at home therefore my parents plant as much wheat as possible to make sure they have flour that will last for one year. The harvest time is on July when all the people in the village are busy collecting their wheat and grinding it to flour. We have a vegetable garden close to our home and plant tomatoes, peppers, beans, anions etc. We also have fruit trees as apples, plums, walnuts, cherries surrounding their gardens or lands and a few vines. Working in the lands or raising animals, my family is not able to fully cover the expenses needed for the living therefore my father is emigrating and working in Greece for three months within the year. He gets hired from the people in agriculture and profits a better income which means a lot for a family living in Albania. My family, same as all the others in Proptisht is yet not able to cover fully what is needed the most for their living and we are poor. 

I attend regularly the church services of Proptshit twice a week. I attend the discipleship Bible studies. Once every month we are blessed from our church with a food package and I am very thankful to the donators of our church who provide food for me and my family. 

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child Albania