Juana Alicia Riz Luis
Ref# CH2592

About Me
My name is Juana Alicia Riz Luis. I'm a 18-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 1, 2004.
Attends Program

Chixocol

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Hello! I hope everything is running well in your life. My name is Juana Alicia Riz Luis, and I am 18 years old. I no longer attend school this year, so I keep at home helping my mother with the household chores. I missed the feeding program’s lunches, but I am happy now because I can enjoy them again since the program has opened its doors one more time. I walk for 20 minutes to arrive to the program. My father returned from the United States last year, and now, he is working as a day laborer in our town; he supports us financially. My mother raises domestic animals and sometimes does the laundry of others. We go out for a walk to spend together as a family, or we go to visit my grandparents and enjoy a delicious snack together. We celebrate Christmas when we have the resources, and we prepare a special lunch.

We are attending Prince of Peace Church, and it is located 10 minutes from our house. We felt sad when our services were suspended due to the virus, but we continue praying at church with the doors closed. We live in our own house, and it has three rooms and a separated kitchen. The house is made of adobe with a tin sheet roof and concrete floor. We do not have running water and electricity. My grandmother provides us with the electricity, and we go to wash our clothes in the river; my mother has to buy water jugs to drink and cook. We were economically affected by this pandemic because there was not much work for a while. We are a humble family, and we are in need of groceries and clothes. Thank God, my family and I are fine and healthy. I am able to share my information thanks to my mother’s and an Evangelism teacher’s support. May God bless you!

Cordially yours

Juana Alicia Riz Luis

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio, AAC Secretary/Antigua