David Simaj Gomez
Ref# ZA4524

About Me
My name is David Simaj Gomez. I'm 4 years old.

My birthday is
September 5, 2015.
Sponsorship Type


Attends Program


Program Country


My Story


Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley.  The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen.   It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area.

Hello, my name is David Simaj Gomez.  I was born on September 5, 2015.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 30 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have three brothers and two sisters.  My father’s name is Ramiro and he works as a day laborer.  My mother’s name is Petrona and she takes care of our home and our domestic animals.  We have ten chickens and a dog.  My father travels to the coast to work during the coffee harvest at the end of the year.  We live with my grandparents.  The house has two rooms and a separate kitchen.  It is made of cement block with a tin roof and a cement floor.  We have water, but we do not have electricity.  We use candles for lighting.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing ball.  My favorite color is blue and my favorite animal is the rabbit.  The foods that I like best are bananas and fried chicken.  Currently, my family does not attend church.

With much love and many blessings,

David Simaj Gomez

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary