Karla Jessenia Barrera Ajqui
Ref# CC1404

About Me
My name is Karla Jessenia Barrera Ajqui. I'm a 12-year-old.

My birthday is
January 1, 2012.
Attends Program

Cuatro Caminos

Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

I am Karla, and it is a blessing to share my update with you. I hope your loved ones and you are doing well. My family and I attend the Catholic Church twice weekly. The evangelism team of LW spoke with my mother to encourage our family to strengthen our faith and collect my information for you. Receiving delicious lunches and Christmas gifts at the feeding program has been a great help and blessing. Therefore, I thank you so much for being part of those who bless many lives. My mother, Gregoria Ajqui, is 39 years old. She dedicates her time to chores while my father works in the field. My father works hard as a day laborer in our community to support our family. His name is Ruben Garcia, and he is 42 years old. Our resources are lower, so our needs are buying clothes and food supplies. We try to survive by raising hens and pigs. Besides that, we grow corn and beans for our consumption. Fortunately, our health is good.

I am eleven years old, and I look forward to becoming a teacher. Besides this, I want to improve my Spanish speaking. My native language is the Quiche dialect. So, I am doing my best as a fifth grader. Face-to-face classes are the best to learn your lessons in-depth, so I like this method. My favorite holiday is Independence Day because I enjoy seeing the parades and activities that schools organize. I love drinking “arroz con chocolate” (a typical hot beverage made of chocolate, rice, and cinnamon), and my favorite sport is soccer. Celebrating birthdays is fun, especially if it is mine. What I love the most is eating a delicious cake to celebrate my birthday with my family. Thank you so much for reading my news! I say goodbye to you for now, but I wish you the best.

With much love,

Karla Jessenia Barrera Ajqui

Translated by: Hillary Popol / AAC Secretary / Antigua Guatemala