Juan Antony Ruiz Lopez
Ref# ZA4589

About Me
My name is Juan Antony Ruiz Lopez. I'm a 9-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
October 27, 2012.
Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley. The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe. Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small, specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers, and many other small-town tradesmen. It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area. Even with all of this, the poverty level is very high, and the children are very needy.

Greetings! I hope your life is filled with many of God’s blessings. My name is Juan Antony Ruiz Lopez. I live in a town called Zacualpa. I am 9 years old, and I was born on October 27, 2012. My father’s name is Camilo Ruiz Riz, and my mother’s name is Isabel Lopez Toj. I have no brothers and 1 sister. I am attending school as a second grader. In my free time, I like to study and sometimes I’ll help around the house. My favorite color is blue, my favorite animal is a cat, and my favorite dish is fried chicken. My mother gave the evangelism team my information over the phone because of COVID-19; they are avoiding as much physical contact as possible to keep everyone safe. My father works as a farmer while my mother works as a housewife. We live in a humble house that is our property. It is located about a 15-minute walk from the feeding program. The house is made of block, the roof is made of tin sheet, and the floor is made of cement. There are 2 rooms, a separate kitchen, and a bathroom that is connected to a cesspit. We also have electricity and running water. As for my health, thank God, I am healthy. My mother has headaches, but she is being treated. Our needs as a family are meals and groceries since the pandemic has caused a decrease of available jobs. Also, my father cannot work as much as he used to because he had his appendix removed 2 years ago and is not as strong as he once was. I am a member of the Adventist Church. I am grateful for God’s love and faithfulness.

With lots of love,

Juan Antony Ruiz Lopez

Translated by: Kalyan Marroquin / Missionary Intern