Renea Velillari
Ref# UMD0016

About Me
My name is Renea Velillari. I'm a 7-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
September 8, 2015.
Attends Program

Upper Mokra

Program Country

Albania

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Hello! My name is Renea Velillari. I am 5 years old and my birthday is on September 8th. I am doing well and enjoy good health. My favorite color is blue. My future dream is to be a doctor and help care for sick people. I get together with my friends, sisters and cousins every afternoon after I get home from the kindergarten and we all play outside. When we meet we choose the games we like to play and usually they are simple games such as running races, hide and seek, or playing with a ball. We play very close to our home so that our mothers will watch over us.  In September I will be attending the 1st grade at the local school and I am very excited to see my school friends and teachers again. Every week, my friends and I attend the children’s Bible classes and there we enjoy praying, singing to the Lord and hearing the Bible stories that the teachers are telling to us. After the Bible lessons, we all play outside for a while and I enjoy very much the time I spend there.

My family and I live in Dunica. My father’s name is Ylli and my mother’s name is Esa. I have two sisters and one of them, Reina is also in the programme. In our family we own two horses and 30 sheep. My parents keep the horses to transport the products from the fields to our home or to collect wood in the mountain. This way, we don’t have to buy the wood we need to burn during the winter. My father is able to sell some of the carried wood and gain a bit more income for our family. The stock food that we need to feed the animals during the winter gets provided through the land and my parents constantly plant corn or alfalfa. The land does not produce as much as we would like, and the income from it is small and not very beneficial. In spring my mother planted the vegetable garden and we have already collected the peppers, tomatoes, onions and beans that we consume as fresh produce in our meals. Around our land and garden we have a few fruits trees that produce things such as; whole nuts, plums, apples and pears. My parents gather the fruits and my mother makes juices and jams and preserves them in jars so that we can consume them during the winter. My grandmother lives in our home and is under the care of my parents. She is retired and is still working alongside my mother in the fields. She also does the housekeeping or cares for us when my mother gets too busy with the gardening.

Living Water Adopt a Child is visiting upper Mokra three days every week to serve the children and adults there.  The roads are quite challenging to travel towards these villages.  Living Waters has rented a home in Dunica and two bars in Kalivac and Trebinja to hold bible studies in.  The team is doing bible studies at present for the children.  The children are receiving every month or six weeks a food package dedicated to help them physically, supplying their need for food.  Same as all the people who live in Dunica my family and I live in poverty and we are thankful to the Adopt a Child sponsorship programme for the help and support to us. God bless you!

Edited by World Race Volunteer

Adopt a Child Albania