Danjela Haxhillari
Ref# UMD0002

About Me
My name is Danjela Haxhillari. I'm a 11-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
December 16, 2010.
Attends Program

Pogradec

Program Country

Albania

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Hello! My name is Danjela Haxhillari. I am 10 years old and my birthday is on December 16th . I am doing well and enjoy good health. My favorite color is red. When I grow up I would love to be a teacher. In the beginning of September I start the 5th grade!  I am very excited to see my school friends and teachers since we were not frequented school during the summer.  My favorite subject to study in school is math.I spend my free time playing outside with my friends. We have simple games that we play like running to catch each other, jumping with ropes or playing with a ball together.  I attend the Adopt a Child programme. My friends and I weekly attend the children’s Bible classes and there we enjoy praying, singing to the Lord and hearing the Bible stories that the teacher is telling to us. After the Bible lessons, we all play outside for a while and I have made many new friends while attending this programme.

My family and I live in Dunica. There are 6 people living in my household.  My father’s name is Naltor and my mother’s name is Dallendyshe. I have a 14 years old brother. Same as all the people who live in my village, we have a portion of land and my parents have planted corn and alfalfa. Through our land my parents try their best to provide the stock food that is needed for our cow for the whole year through. My father takes care of feeding it in the fields during the autumn. He takes it out for a few hours every day. My brother is also cares for the cow when my father is doing other jobs in our land with our garden or trees. Keeping a cow is beneficial for us because we can provide milk, cheese and butter that we need to consume daily. Once a year my father sells its calf and we gain a bit more money from this.  In spring my mother planted the vegetable garden and we have already collected the peppers, tomatoes, onions and beans that we consume as fresh products in our meals.  Around our land and garden we have got a few fruits trees as whole nuts, plums, apples and pears. My parents gather the fruits and my mother makes juices and jams and preserves them in jars so that we can consume them during the winter. She has also preserves vegetables in jars. My father is jobless as there are no job possibilities in our village. The people who live in the village are considered as self-employed because of the agriculture or raising animals but what my father earns through the land or animals is not beneficial and we all live in poverty.  My father emigrates to Greece for 3 months out of the year to work there in agriculture and bring home more money to provide a little bit for our family.

Living Water Adopt a Child is visiting upper Mokra three days every week to serve the children and adults there.  The roads are quite challenging to travel towards these villages.  Living Waters has rented a home in Dunica and two bars in Kalivac and Trebinja to hold bible studies in.  The team is doing bible studies at present for the children.  The children are receiving every month or six weeks a food package dedicated to help them physically, supplying their need for food.

 I am thankful to the Adopt a Child programme for the constant help to my family and me. God bless you!

Edited by World Race Volunteer

Adopt a child Albania